Revelation: Christ to the Churches

Peter Barnes: Revelation 1:1-8

(5 November 2017)


Luther:  ‘everyone  thinks  of  the  book  whatever  his  spirit  imparts’.  Calvin  never  preached  on  the  Apocalypse.  Spurgeon:  ‘There  is  a  whole  Book  of  Revelation  which  I  do  not  understand’  and  ‘Only  fools  and  madmen  are  positive  in  their  interpretations  of  the  Apocalypse.’

It  is  probably  best  seen  as  a  symbolic  series  of  pictures  of  God’s  battle  with  Satan,  and  how  the  suffering  Church  is  sustained.

It  can  be  conveniently  looked  at  under  seven  headings:

(a)  Christ  among  the  seven  churches  (1-3);

(b)  the  seven  seals  (4-7);

(c)  the  seven  trumpets  (8-11)

(d)  spiritual  warfare  (12-14);

(e)  the  seven  bowls  (15-16);

(f)  the  fall  of  Babylon  (17-19);

(g)  the  consummation  in  the  new  heaven  and  new  earth  (20-22).

  1. The authority  of  the  book  of  Revelation

– 1:1-2;  ‘apocalypse’  means  ‘unveiling’.  There  is  a  five-stage  relay  –  from  the  Father  to  Christ  to  an  angel  to  John  to  his  readers.

– 1:3;  see  also  22:7,  18-19;  cf.  Amos  3:7-8.

  1. The person  of  Christ

– 1:4-5;  Exodus 3:14.  The  ‘seven  spirits’  probably  refers  to  the  Spirit  who  manifests  Himself  in  the  seven  churches  of  Asia.  Christ  is:

(a)  the  faithful  witness.

(b)  the  firstborn  from  the  dead.  Death  itself  has  died.

(c)  the  ruler  of  the  kings  of  the  earth.  John 20:28;  Rev.19:16).

(d)  the  eternal  one.  Both  the  Son  and  the  Father  speak  the  same  language:  Isa.41:4;  44:6;  48:10-12;  Rev. 1:4, 8, 17;  21:6;  22:12-13.

  1. The work  of  Christ

 (a)  He  loves  us.

(b)  He  has  freed  us  from  our  sins  by  His  blood.

(c)  He  has  made  us  to  be  with  Him.  Christians  will  be  a  kingdom  and  priests,  like  Ex.19:6.

(d)  He  will  come  in  power  and  majesty.  1:7;  Acts 1:9-11.